Cambridge Worldwide Academy is a British international school offering a dual education system.

School Curriculum

Cambridge Worldwide Academy is a British international school offering a dual education system. The school provides the Tajik and English national curriculum to over five hundred students aged 3 to 18. CWA Tajikistan curriculum is modelled on the nationals Curriculum for England, significantly enhanced by the study of the Tajik, Chinese and Russian languages and a broad range of IGCSE and A Level courses from Year 10 to Year 13. We welcome Tajik students, foreign national residing in Tajikistan and international students from outside the country to join our school and a follow a curriculum designed to challenge, extend and excite all of them irrespective of their interests or abilities.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Preschool education at CWA Tajikistan is the Early Years Foundation programme for children aged three to five years. Our school provides a caring environment that promotes a happy and confident start to school life. All children are entitled to a rich curriculum, both indoors and outdoors, designed to meet different needs and abilities of a diverse international community of young learners. Learning through fun, creative and play-based curriculum, each child is challenged and supported to reach his/her individual potential.

The Early Years curriculum focuses on seven areas of learning.

3 Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Social and emotional development

4 Spcific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In this stage we link home and school through a learning partnership which will carry the children through their Early Years education into Primary and onwards. We encourage all children to explore their learning environment while being surrounded by examples of positive relationships. Learning inside and outdoors builds early independence, problem solving and confidence. The children’s school daily routine draws from each area of the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ curriculum.

Primary Curriculum

CWA Tajikistan Primary School has an innovative and creative curriculum reflecting best practice in the UK and Tajikistan. The diverse and creative curriculum offered by CWA Tajikistan is very carefully tailored to meet the needs of a multi national community of children. Outstanding teaching and learning opportunities are grounded within the National Curriculum of England and adapted to the Tajik environment. Differentiated personal learning plans addressing children’s individual learning aims are identified throughout the curriculum. This is to take into account the diverse range of nationalities our school caters for. Assessment is both formative and summative, allowing teachers to build up a picture of the ‘whole child’.

Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2)

The Key Stage 1 curriculum is based on the National Curriculum for England. Children are supported by professional teachers to become independent and competent learners. Children in Year 1 experience a longer day than in EYFS, providing more opportunities to develop their personalities, natural abilities and talents.

Key Stage 2 (Year 3 to Year 6)

Students in this stage follow Key Stage 2 of the National Curriculum for England, which continues to build on the foundations that are established in Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1.

Our professional teachers carry out ongoing assessment to ensure that each child continues to progress and develop to meet CWA Tajikistan and the National Curriculum for England standards. All children are supported to acquire skills that would allow them to participate in a meaningful and active manner in their learning process.

On completion of the primary school at the end of Year 6, all CWA Tajikistan students will have received a well-rounded education, will have developed a strong character and are well- prepared for their secondary education. The students take external tests at the end of year 6.

Key Stage 3 (Year 7 to Year 9)

Key Stage 3 which is comprised of Years 7, 8 and 9 known follow the National Curriculum for England. In this stage the focus remains on the provision of a well rounded education and on a holistic development of all learners. In Year 7,8 and 9 students are expected to become reflective, independent learners who can take risks, collaborate well, communicate clearly and be kind, compassionate and sensitive members of an international community.

Secondary Curriculum

CWA Tajikistan follows the British National Curriculum throughout the Secondary School Key Stages 3, 4 and 5. At KS4 students take their IGCSE examinations and in KS5 they sit their A-Level examinations. These are qualifications recognized worldwide for entry into higher education and/or employment. All students are taught within an environment where independent learning and higher order thinking skills are nurtured and developed, while individuality, risk taking and independence are celebrated.

Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) and IGCSE Programme

Tajik nationals in Key stage 4 follow the MOE compulsory syllabus which includes English, Maths, ICT,Tajik language, literature, History, Geography, religious education and law and choose from the options below:

  • Physics/ Biology/Chemistry
  • Accounting/ Economics/Business
  • Russian/Chinese/French/German

Sixth Formers (AS and A level)

In the Sixth Form CWA aim is to develop critical thinking, creativity, adaptability, communication skills and independent work habits. The Sixth Form Curriculum contains a core element as well as a wide range of A Level examination subjects from which students may select a field of study appropriate to their ability, interests and likely choices for higher education.

The focus of learning in these years is on academic achievement as students are prepared for life beyond school. In AS and A level the students follow A Level courses. A minimum of 3 subjects are to be selected. Students study the Tajik language, Human Rights and Family Ethics Studies (MOE Syllabus) and choose from the options below.

  • Physics/ Biology/Chemistry
  • Accounting/ Economics/Business
  • Russian/Chinese/French/German